Read about my daily adventures while painting 'en plein aire' .

Hayfield

When I saw that the field just up the street had hay rolls laying in it for a few days, I decided to paint them.  The first day I took photo’s and started the painting.

Hayfield

                                                                               Simpsons hayfield

Starting the painting No one bothered me on the little side road I’d parked on, until a tenant of the hay field owner drove by.  He rents a mobile home at the other end of the field, and questioned me about what I was doing there until I mentioned his landlords name.  Then he suddenly quit acting like he owned the area and he drove on home.

DSCF4401 (2)

Painting the hayfield

My next visitor was a beautiful black cat.  Wish I’d brought some kitty treats, but a few pets satisfied the cat who moved on and let me get back to work.A visitorKitty visitor

I never knew it was so busy on the other side of our neighborhood.  After several cars and pick-ups drove by, my husband drove up and parked behind me, got out and took my picture.

Painting the hayfield

I finally got back to work and painted for about 2 hours.

DSCF4407 (2)

I went back a few days later to paint some finishing touches.  This time a man walking his dog stopped by to see my painting.  He could see me from his window and I’m sure he was curious about what I was painting.  He told me the painting was real nice. 🙂

Here’s the finished painting, I may go back and lighten up the tree’s by the buildings, but other than that….

Hayfield painting

Hayfield painting

Leave a Reply

D. Michael Coffee, artist

Art is my passion and the true backbone of my existence.

Amulets by Merlin's Blog

Reflections of the Art of Merlin

The Bloomin' Couch

Read about my daily adventures while painting 'en plein aire' .

