Read about my daily adventures while painting 'en plein aire' .

Lake Moultrie

Last week, I dropped off some art at a hair studio in a town 1/2 hours drive from home.  I was near Santee State Park, so I decided to go  there and paint that afternoon.  I heard the State parks are charging to get in now, so I was a little upset before I even got there because I don’t think public parks should charge admission.  But when I saw the sign said $2 per car I felt much better.  I could afford that much.

Santee State ParkI like this view, I wish I’d put the base of the tree in my painting, but I zoomed in on the lake.

I drove on for miles after passing the sign, then finally arrived at a little store and boat dock.  I went in and told the elderly man at the counter I wanted to paint a picture here this afternoon.  He said, “Well, let me give you a free guest pass, go hang it on your rear view mirror”.  I was so pleased, there are still some places and some people that appreciate art.  I went to get a candy bar, and he almost shouts, “I mean it, go put it in your car right now or a park ranger may drive by and give you a ticket!”  Well, I guess I’m not as honored a guest as I thought. 😉   I did as he instructed then got my candy bar and went looking for a place to set up my easel.

I decided to paint right next to the parking lot by the boat dock.  I didn’t have to walk far to get where I wanted to paint and there was a picnic table situated perfectly for holding my paints.  Quite a few people came and went on the dock, boaters and fishermen, but no one bothered me at all.  I think it was the first time I set up in a public place and didn’t draw observers.  I don’t know if I should be flattered or annoyed, maybe state park visitors are used to artists painting on site.

I set up my things, looked around and started painting the far left tree’s that were on the other side of an inlet.  Obviously, I made those trees too large.  An amateur mistake, but we all have bad days.  I went on and painted for only about 2 hours.  I’m getting faster…my goal when I started this 8×10″ landscape series!

DSCF4008 DSCF4011

A couple of days later, I decided to take advantage of the flexibility of oil paints and rework the treeline.  Here it is after a little editing with turpentine and oil paint.

Lake Moultrie oil paintingEnjoy the view!

Leave a Reply

D. Michael Coffee, artist

Art is my passion and the true backbone of my existence.

Amulets by Merlin's Blog

Reflections of the Art of Merlin

The Bloomin' Couch

Read about my daily adventures while painting 'en plein aire' .

