Read about my daily adventures while painting 'en plein aire' .

Simpsons Pond

0910141542-00

For today’s painting, I called a neighboring farmer and got permission to paint his pond.   I didn’t know it was covered with algae bloom until I got there, ready to paint, so I decided to go ahead and paint the challenging algea bloom on the pond.   I picked a spot after walking the length of the berm and set up my easel and started painting.  The farmer and his son stopped by to see what I decided to paint, and told me I picked a good spot.  🙂0910141658-01 (2)

0910141654-03 (2)After painting about an hour, I realized the fascinating swirls of algae had moved.  It was no longer like my painting.  Whats going on?  I look to the left and see a cow in the pond!  I sure  couldn’t blame it for wading in the water on this hot summer afternoon, I almost wanted to join him but wisely stayed on dry land.  I did walk down to visit though and take a break from my painting.

Walking back, I disturbed a black snake checking out my easel.  It slithered off into the ditch behind where I was working, so I went back to painting.

pond3

Before I found my Yellow-Green oil paint

I had to watch my back after that, but I finished up the painting, my first of algae bloom on a pond.  What do you think of it?  Can you tell what’s going on with the pond?  Did I successfully capture the view?  Comments are welcome!

2 weeks later…found my Yellow-Green paint, looks more like the algea bloom now!

I touched up the painting when I found my Yellow-green paint.

I touched up the painting when I found my Yellow-green paint.

Leave a Reply

D. Michael Coffee, artist

Art is my passion and the true backbone of my existence.

Amulets by Merlin's Blog

Reflections of the Art of Merlin

The Bloomin' Couch

Read about my daily adventures while painting 'en plein aire' .

